Life\’s Direction

ZenBurn – Helpfull colors to help your eyes!

Posted in -TECH- by lifesdirection on June 4, 2008

My eyes have been hurting recently,

I realized that there were a few things that I could do to combat the plight of the technology worker, tweak my computer’s user interface.

I have been looking for a while for a good color scheme for alot of the ‘terminal’ based work that I do.  As I sit infront of a Terminal of some sort for most of my job and hobby, it was getting more important that I find one less-straining on the eyes.  I believe I have done that.

In the screenshot I have used the ‘ZenBurn‘ color scheme for putty, this color scheme.  I also use a different font, one that comes with Vista, it is called “Consolas”.  Furthermore sub-pixel rendering is turned on in the various operating systems that I use,  This makes the text more readable when using an LCD display.

I find personally that the easier my display enviroment is on my eyes the more productive I become.  I am able to concentrate longer and stay more focused at the task at hand.  Spend some time on your computer, adjust your interface on the programs you use, unfortunatly some operating systems will not allow you to do this but most will, Vista (shudder), XP via (UX Theme Patcher), Gnome/KDE will allow you to do this nativlely OS X may require you to purchase a themeing utility such as shapeshifter.

What are some of the things that you do to make your computing experience more comfortable?

Leave a Reply

