Life\’s Direction

JDarkRoom update!

Posted in Uncategorized by lifesdirection on January 20, 2008

JDarkRoom

I have mentioned a few times about this word proccessor that I use for blogging called JDarkRoom. We’ll I wanted to post quickly and let you know that there is a new version available. This new version is especially freidnly if you are a OS X user.

There is a new OS X download that will allow you to use JDarkRoom like a normal .app icon, instead of having to horse around with a .jar file. Also in the new version as per popular request is the ability to widen the margin of the editor, this makes the utility especially usefull if you have a widescreen display (macbook, macbook pro, powerbook or external).

I usually write my blogs using JDarkRoom, you can see it in the image above in the banner I am using for my blog. I have also mentioned it in this post.

Check it out! Really, its small, lightweight and very usefull!

R.

Tagged with:

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Leif Hansen said, on April 14, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    While I too love using JDark (switched when Writeroom started to cost), using it with Spaces drives me NUTS because
    a) it seems you can’t assign it to a particular space and
    b) when you alt-tab out of it you can’t alt-tab back unless you are in the right space, and then the little ‘press ok’ msg might be hidden under some window.

    Any fixes, thoughts?
    Cheers.
    Leif
    http://www.SparkSocialMedia.com

  2. lifesdirection said, on April 16, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    Hi Leif,

    Interesting, I had another friend comment to me about how Spaces not robust enough to applications well, I think it was designed around the window paradigm as opposed to the application paradigm, which might have allowed you to keep all the windows of a certain application in the same space.

    Also I know that Java Applications are rendered using their own GDI type interface, they often have problems in environments where special effects (like compiz on Linux for example) are used. This is probably why spaces cannot grab the window, it is simply not accessible as an application to the window manager (hence the ability for it to cover everything including the dock). I think a ‘work around’ as you propose would have to be done to the actual Java Runtime Environment (JRE) as opposed to the application itself.

    Let me know what you think!

    Thanks for stopping by!


Leave a Reply

