Life\’s Direction

Take 2

Posted in -LIFE- by lifesdirection on November 25, 2007

So I was encouraged by a friend, to pick up blogging again. Even though in much of my peer group I am defiantly not the most well articulated person. I will do my best to share my reflections as I see fit.

I will have to learn with regards to the MTN journey. This journey in particular has been hard for me. For the majority of my life I have been rather safe in what I have embarked on. Most of my disciplinary studies have been in the computer related field, hence I feel this sense of inadequacy when I try new things. This is brought on by myself and the intimidation of people that know far far more than I with regards to a different discpline. So it is a challenge for me, a challenge to learn and to love and to experience another aspect of life, God gives us these opportunities and I want to make the best of them, even at the expense of insecurity.

I will also be blogging about technical related things, those things at work as well as the questions that my friends commonly ask me about. I hope to be disciplined as well in this and as a result share some of my knowledge and experiences that I think will benefit the readers. Although at this point I have a very small reader base :D.

Tagged with: , , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. John Santic said, on November 25, 2007 at 10:56 pm

    Rahim, you are vary articulate and capable of writing many good things. I think blogging through some of the MTN stuff and technology will make this an interesting read.

    …now you just have to be consistent 🙂

  2. lifesdirection said, on December 2, 2007 at 12:38 am

    Hi John,

    Thanks for stopping by, it took me a while to figure out how to respond to your comment. Thanks for your tip about problogger.net for learning how to blog well.

    While we were driving around the other day, you mentioned you knew of another person who blogs on Technology and Theology. I couldnt remember quite who it was, could you post a link to his Blog?

    Blessings,

    R.

  3. John Santic said, on December 2, 2007 at 11:30 pm

    Rahim, no worries… the url is http://www.kinnon.tv

  4. Gord Mooney said, on February 16, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    Hello Rahim

    The old dog is in the house of blog. Frankly this is a new adventure for me so here goes:

    You said:

    “Personal Convictions
    On a more personal level I was convicted. It was made very obvious to me that I often treat scripture like a consumable. I feel lost without sermon outline, even some times offended and hopeless. A good friend pointed this out to me during a rather lively and terse conversation about preaching. While I think there is wonderful merit in the discipline of thought in combination with allowing the Holy Spirit to speak to my heart as an individual, I have often discounted the times of community as less important to my needs (another symptom of my consumerism).

    Conclusion
    I am hopefully that indeed where there are scientific and contextual shortcomings of narrative preaching that the Spirit of God can narrate the text. He is capable of such wonderful things, making the scriptures applicable to our lives but not necessarily formative to our agendas. So many times in my life I have been made aware that God has re-interpreted for me in my mind the scriptures as they apply to his agenda and not mine!

    What can we do to allow more of the Holy Spirit in the Church? How do these concepts manifest themselves in our times of ‘Bible Study’. How do we let the Spirit lead?”

    My response:

    I believe Martin Luther in challenging us that we are all a holy priest hood puts aside the notion that only some of us are Levites. If that is the case then the grease monkey mechanic who may not have the time and financial resources to become an MTN scholar has equal access to the word of God through the “Word” and through the only “Book” that matters. All other “books of theology” are mere treatments of the irrefutable word of God. It appears, at least to me, therefor, that when the grease monkey reads the simple truth “whatsoever you have done for the least of these brethern of mine, you have done for me” and then he “goes” and he “does”, he has understood completely that truth, for his going and doing have revealed his fruit.

    Why did God come to us in human form? Here is one thought:
    The Word of God became flesh! The Word of God became audible speach in order to challenge His creation in their hearts, to motivate them through story and parable to explain to them the reason and meaning of the old covenant as a doorway to the new covenant. The Word had feet to “go” to that which he had created. The Word had hands with which to perform “healing and miracles” and finally the Word had blood with which to sacrifice for and cleanse a broken world.
    What does this mean for us. The Word of God chalenges us to “go” to a broken world and to live out the life that the Word challenges us to live, revealing the Gospel, performing “healing and miracles” and living lives of sacrifice.
    I have begun a healthy library on “treatments” of the Word but ultimately it is the Word that asks me to “go” and the Holy Spirit that prompts me to say, “Here am I. Send me.”
    We can spend a lifetime on the Mount listening to the sermon. However Christ’s ministry was not one of mere sermon. He used story, parable and scripture and either preceeded or proceeded it by healings or miracles. His teachings prompted the followers of that day and our day to bring the Word to life in our very living, hence we are the body of Christ. We can impress with fine writings and exegesis. We can be great expositors of the word and put Doctor before our names and MDiv and PHD after our names but if we do not go into the streets and the byways and live it out what have we done: “Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to him, ‘Go, I wish you well; keep warm and well fed.’ but does nothing about his physical needs, what good is it? In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accomplished by action, is dead.” (James 2:15-17) It was for this reason that Jesus healed the withered hand on the Sabbath. So Rahim here then is a modern parable: If for six months I perform Lectio, Meditatio, Oratio, Contemplatio, Examine and Taise with regard to Matthew 25:31-46 and on one Sunday, the grease monkey skips going to service, slides under the engine of a car and performs repairs on it to get it running and the widowed, single mother of two kids on a disability income says to him “How much do I owe you?” and the grease monkey says “You owe me nothing. It was my pleasure”; Who then has worshipped the King?

    Blessings to you my brother and best friend!
    Gord Mooney

  5. lifesdirection said, on February 16, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    Hi Gord,

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts, I have always appreciated your pragmatic response to the gospel. The fact that what you learn and who you are is manifested in how you respond, respond by doing.

    I need to learn much in the ways of doing. I do realize that in all things if I am just a ‘church rat’ the gospel will always be far from my comprehension and far from my life.

    Thank you for encouraging me in this regard!

    Bless you.

    R.


Leave a Reply

